ESS Community Service and Activism Award

ESS Community Service and Activism Award

This award is presented annually to a community service and/or social justice organization working in the city in which the ESS meets during the particular year each award is given. To be eligible for consideration, the organization must be working to address a significant social problem, empower marginalized communities, advance community involvement and social-political participation in underrepresented communities, and/or effect positive change in the neighborhood/city/state in which they conduct their work. This award comes with a $750 stipend and the possibility to engage in a conversation with scholars on a panel during the ESS annual meeting at which the awards is given.

The 2021 award went to Brooklyn Movement Center, Brooklyn, NY

Brooklyn Movement Center (BMC) is a Black-led, membership-based organization of primarily low-to-moderate income Central Brooklyn residents. We build power and pursue self-determination in Bedford-Stuyvesant & Crown Heights by nurturing local leadership, waging campaigns and winning concrete improvements in people’s lives. Through our intersectional organizing, BMC centers a full range of issues and Black identity that define a whole community.

To nominate a particular organization for this award, ESS members should send a letter (or letters) of nomination detailing how the nominated group fulfills the above qualifications. The organization should be in the vicinity of where we are holding the Annual Meeting. (2022 is Boston.) Please include examples of the nominated organization’s work, copies of (or references to) any relevant published materials and/or press coverage, and contact information for both nominator and nominee.

For the 2022 award, please send nominations to the award Committee Chair.


Cinzia Solari, Chair, University of Massachusetts, Boston ([email protected])

Saulo Colón, Housatonic Community College

Alessandra Bazo Vienrich, Worcester State University

Deadline: November 15, 2021

Previous Recipients:

2020 Puentes de Salud, Philadelphia, PA

2019 Deeper Than Water, Boston, MA

2018 Thread, Baltimore, MD

2018 Honorable Mention: The United Workers, Baltimore, MD