ESS Election and Membership Renewal

November 9, 2020

Dear ESS Members,

Now that we can exhale from the fraught U.S. Presidential Election, the ESS Executive Committee is pleased to present a stellar slate of candidates for ESS Executive Office.

ESS Election

A full list of candidates, their biographical sketches, and statements may be found here. In order to vote, it may be necessary for you to renew your ESS Membership-you may do so here. (Since we have switched website administrators, your previous membership ID may no longer apply.)

You may then log onto the ESS website with your Membership ID, and cast your ballot here. The deadline for the ESS election is December 15, 2020 at 5pm ET. Please email us at [email protected] should you have any issues with, or questions about, voting. 

President-Elect Candidates

Dana Fisher
Frederick Wherry

Vice-President Elect Candidates

Erin Hatton
Jennifer Lena

Executive Committee Member Candidates

Ingrid Castro
Jessica Emami
Yao Li
Hilary Silver

Membership Renewal

We would also like to take this moment to invite you to renew your ESS membership. Your continued support of ESS is that which enables us to make the ESS 2021 Virtual Meeting free for all members, so please renew your membership here, and consider sponsoring a student member if you are able. The strength of ESS lies in its inclusive and diverse membership.

 ESS 2021 | February 18-21, 2021

Thanks to all members who submitted Abstracts for consideration for the Thematic Sessions for ESS 2021. The Program Committee is currently reviewing these, and we aim to have decisions by December 15, 2020. In the meantime, the following sessions have already been scheduled, a preview of which you may find here:

1.         Robin M. Williams, Jr. Lecture

2.         Presidential Plenary Sessions

3.         ESS Awards and Presidential Address

4.         Thematic Sessions

5.         Author Meets Critics Sessions

Pre-Conference: Community College Spotlight

We are also pleased to announce a Pre-Conference that spotlights the critical role of and research from community colleges, which will take place on Thursday, February 18, 2021, and encompass two sessions: 10:15-11:45am and 12:00-1:30pm.

 The Pre-Conference will be entirely organized Myron Strong and Vondora Wilson-Corzon, who are members of the ESS Executive Committee and ESS Program Committee, respectively. Please direct all suggestions and inquiries to them directly at [email protected] and [email protected].

Thank you

Allow us to end by thanking the members of the Program Committee and the Executive Committee whose service, leadership, and commitment have exceptional during a most challenging time. There is no road map about how to best proceed during a pandemic, but we have been guided by our intent to best serve ESS, and to retain the vitality of our community.

 Thank you for your partnership in this endeavor, and your continued support of ESS.

Jennifer Lee
President ESS 

Jennifer McAdam
Executive Officer